Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Award time: Life Sciences Pennsylvania hands out annual industry awards

March 16, 2018
In The News

Life Sciences Pennsylvania, a Wayne-based trade group, handed out its annual industry awards this week. Here is who was honored:

Three organizations received patient impact awards.

▪CSL Behring of King of Prussia was honored for Haegarda, a treatment that reduces painful swelling attacks in different body parts including the abdomen, face and the larynx in patients with hereditary angiogram.

▪Spark Therapeutics of Philadelphia was honored for Luxturna, a one-time gene therapy treatment developed for patients with a rare form of inherited vision loss. When it was approved in December, Luxturna became is the first directly administered gene therapy approved in the United States that targets a disease caused by mutations in a specific gene.

▪Teleflex Inc. of Wayne was honored for its ArrowEvolution and Chlorag+ard technology that provides broad-spectrum antimicrobial protection to reduce microbial colonization and thrombus formation on catheter surfaces.

The Emerging Company of the Year Award went to Optinose of Yardley, which in 2017 received Food and Drug Administration approval for Xhance, its drug-device combination used for the treatment of nasal polyps in patients 18 years of age and older.

The Scientific Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Carl H. June, director of the Center for Cellular Immunotherapies at the University of Pennsylvania’s Perelman School of Medicine, a pioneer in the filed of T cell immunotherapy. June led the team at Penn that developed what would become the Novartis CAR-T cell immunotherapy drug Kymriah, which was approved by the Food and Drug Administration last year.

Deal of the Year Award went to Harmony Biosciences, a Plymouth Meeting biopharmaceutical company targeting rare diseases, that raised $270 million in equity financing last year in one of the largest private capital raises in North America during 2017.

Other individual honors included:

▪The Frank Baldino Bioscience CEO of the Year Award presented to Peter K. Miller, the CEO of OptiNose Inc.

▪The Hubert J.P. Schoemaker Leadership Award went to Benson Smith, board chairman of Teleflex.

▪The Thought Leader of the Year Award was given to geneticist and entrepreneur Dietrich Stephan, CEO of Pittsburgh-based LifeX

▪The President’s Service Award went to Thomas Hess, senior vice president and chief financial officer of Genomind.

The organization also named state Sen. Kim Ward as “State Official of the Year “ and U.S. Rep. Brendan Boyle as “Federal Official of the Year.”