Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Brendan Boyle

Representing the 13th District of Pennsylvania


Blue Collar Caucus Statement on Labor Secretary Confirmation Vote

April 28, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC –   Today, Congressmen Brendan F. Boyle (PA-13) and Marc Veasey (TX-33), co-chairs of the Blue Collar Caucus, released the following statement after the Senate confirmed President Trump's nominee for Secretary of Labor, Alexander Acosta:
"We were greatly relieved to see President Trump's previous nominee, Andy Puzder, withdraw from consideration after working Americans across the country rose in strong opposition to his atrocious anti-worker record. The Blue Collar Caucus remains fully committed to holding Alexander Acosta accountable to the core mission of the U.S. Department of Labor.
The Department of Labor made tremendous strides for the American worker under President Obama; protecting the right to organize and demand fair pay, and ensuring workers have safe working conditions and access to a secure retirement. Today, the American worker is under constant attack in Republican-led state legislatures across the country and outside political forces work to undermine their ability to fight for better pay, benefits, and representation. President Trump is poised to carry that anti-worker campaign even further, as demonstrated by virtually every policy and nomination he has made so far. We have no reason to expect that Acosta will stand up against President Trump and question his many threats to dismantle these protections, but Trump made promises to the working class during his campaign and we will fight to hold him and Secretary Acosta to them.
The Department of Labor's work is critical to the safety, prosperity, and productivity of millions of American workers in every industry. The Department needs a leader who shares these convictions, and possesses a demonstrated record of fighting for American workers. That is why the Blue Collar Caucus will remain vigilant to ensure that Acosta does not betray these values.”
The Blue Collar Caucus was formed to foster member discussion and legislative ideas focused on addressing wage stagnation, job insecurity, trade, offshoring, and dwindling career opportunities for those in the manufacturing and building trades. The caucus focuses on bringing together a diverse array of Democratic members of the House of Representatives to generate solutions that will protect American workers from globalized competition, maintain the viability of domestic manufacturing, and help to cultivate innovative industries that can provide stable employment amid rapid technological advancement.

Current Members of the Blue Collar Caucus include: Marc Veasey (TX-33) (Co-Chair), Brendan Boyle (PA-13) (Co-Chair), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Rick Nolan (MN-08), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Tim Ryan (OH-13), John Garamendi (CA-03), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Dan Lipinski (IL-03), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Brian Higgins (NY-26), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Joe Courtney (CT-02), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), John Larson (CT-01), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Luis Gutierrez (IL-04), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Stephen F. Lynch (MA-08), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), and Derek Kilmer (WA-06).