Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Boyle, Paulsen Lead Bipartisan Push to Retire Animals from Government Labs

July 26, 2018
Press Release
Washington - Today, Congressmen Brendan Boyle (PA-13) and Erik Paulsen (MN-03) launched a bipartisan effort to retire dogs, cats and primates no longer needed for research in government laboratories.
Twenty lawmakers total from both parties signed a letter that was sent to the heads of all eight agencies that currently use hundreds of dogs and cats and thousands of primates in often painful experiments: the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Department of Agriculture, Department of Defense, Department of the Interior, Department of Veterans Affairs, Food and Drug Administration, National Institutes of Health and the Smithsonian Institution.
“Our constituents are increasingly concerned about the welfare of animals used in federally-funded research and strongly support research animal adoption and retirement,” the lawmakers wrote. “We agree that cats, dogs and primates that survive taxpayer-funded government research should be provided with an opportunity to find suitable non-laboratory homes at the completion of studies.”
"For years I’ve worked to reduce cruel government testing on dogs, cats and primates opposed by most Americans, and secure the release and retirement of animals no longer needed in federal research,” said Rep. Boyle. "I’m proud to collaborate with bipartisan colleagues to secure common-sense federal policies to get dogs and cats into loving homes and monkeys into accredited sanctuaries at the completion of government experiments.”
Rep. Paulsen and Boyle’s letter was signed by: Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Ken Calvert (R-CA), Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO), Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. (R-NY), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Alex Mooney (R-WV), Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Dina Titus (D-NV) and Fred Upton (R-MI).