Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Boyle Fights For DOJ Office Combating Violence Against Women

February 26, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Brendan F. Boyle led a letter signed by nineteen other House Democrats to President Trump expressing strong concern that he has not yet nominated a Director for the Office of Violence Against Women (OVW), and urging him to select a candidate for confirmation by the U.S. Senate immediately. After submitting the letter, Boyle released the following statement:

“Amidst a long-overdue national conversation about sexual assault and the public’s learning of credible allegations of domestic violence within his own administration, it is extremely concerning that President Trump has yet to nominate Director for the Office of Violence Against Women. This critical agency serves to coordinate a national, unified response to violent atrocities against women. As a growing number of women courageously share their stories, it is more important than ever that the federal government stands ready and able to assist in every way possible.

Every day that this vital position remains unfilled, the President is breaking his promise to protect all Americans and failing women across this nation. I urge President Trump to prioritize these issues for once and nominate a Director for this position immediately.”

The OVW, as a part of the Department of Justice, develops “the national capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.” Created in 1995 under the Violence Against Women Act, the office stands as a national, unified, and coordinated response to sexual assault, domestic violence, and stalking.

The following Members of Congress joined Boyle on the letter: Nanette Diaz Barragán, David N. Cicilline, Yvette D. Clarke, Stephen F. Lynch, Betty McCollum, James P. McGovern, Gwen S. Moore, Beto O’Rourke, Jamie Raskin, Nydia M. Velázquez, John Yarmuth, Donald S. Beyer, Jr., Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Michael Capuano, Carol Shea-Porter, Steve Cohen, Jim Costa, Adriano Espaillat, and Alcee L. Hastings.