Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Boyle Presents Congressional Award Gold Medal to Phila/MontCo Students

June 22, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Brendan F. Boyle (PA-13) was proud to present The Congressional Award Gold Medal to 13 recipients (12 Montgomery County; 1 Philadelphia County) from his district in the U.S. Capitol today.  The Congressional Award Gold Medal, awarded for outstanding civic volunteerism, is the highest honor awarded to youth ages 14-24 by the United States Congress.  It is open to anyone regardless of ability or circumstance.  Congressman Boyle personally presented these medals to each recipient in recognition of their initiative and achievements as young leaders in Pennsylvania’s 13th district.

“It is important that we recognize outstanding young adults like these every chance we have.  The great work they have done in our community is well-deserving of this prestigious award.  This medal recognizes the value of goal setting, honoring commitments, and civic duty,” said Congressman Boyle. “Through their personal achievements, these medal recipients have proven themselves to be outstanding volunteers and exceptionally motivated young citizens.  In challenging themselves to grow through service to others, they embody the true spirit of public service.  I can’t commend them enough.”

Earning the Congressional Gold Medal requires significant commitment.  Each participant must spend two years or more completing at least 400 hours of community service, 200 hours of both personal development and physical fitness activities, and a four-night Expedition or Exploration.  For this achievement, Gold Medalists are recognized at the U.S. Capitol by their Member of Congress with the presentation of The Congressional Award Gold Medal, which is struck by the United States Mint.  

Here is a full list of PA-13 Congressional Gold Medal awardees:

1.            Elizabeth Belka (Glenside, PA)
2.            Victoria Belka (Glenside, PA)
3.            Noah Berkowitz (Huntingdon Valley, PA)
4.            Seth Berkowitz (Huntingdon Valley, PA)
5.            Lindsay Fullerton (Elkins Park, PA)
6.            Samantha Gable (Rydal, PA)
7.            Jasna Janikic (Jenkintown, PA)
8.            Erin Markham (Glenside, PA)
9.            Emily Matthews (Philadelphia, PA)
10.          Swathi Prakash (Abington, PA)
11.          Anthony Radcliffe (Glenside, PA)
12.          Kristen Sparhawk (Rydal, PA)
13.          Stephanie Waldstein (Rydal, PA)